Thank You

Dear 1 South,

 

Sadly, the day that I thought would never come has finally arrived. Finals week is upon us and that means checkouts are happening. Checkouts mean packing and packing means good-byes. To be honest, I thought that saying good-bye to all of you was going to be easy. I assumed it was going to be quick like a Band-Aid and would be over quickly, but as the summer slowly draws near, so does the realization that his is my last year with all of you. I have talked to most of you about how this next year is going to be different. The change in atmosphere is going to come as a shock to most of you but in the end, a lot of you are excited for the next step in your life. After hearing about where many of you are going to be heading after this year, I have grown a personal excitement for many of your successes and plans. It is great to see that the place that you are so use to calling home is going to be easy to leave because of all of the exciting and new adventures that you are about to embark on.

 

This job has honestly changed my life and without all of you being the great and awesome men that you are I don’t think I could have had the experience that I had with the RA job. Some of you I have been with for 3 years now; since I started my first year here in Brockert Hall and more importantly a RA. Some of you I have met as I stayed in Brockert over the past years and I can truthfully say that I have seen all of you grow from new freshman into great young men that I can personally say that I am proud of. Every day that I spend time with you, I notice you all become more respectful and strong men and I am always impressed with all of the great things that you all push yourselves towards and everything that you try to achieve. I am so happy that I have been able to spend these past couple years with all of you here in Brockert Hall. If it wasn’t for all of you, I would not be the man that I am today. I wouldn’t sitting at my desk, writing this letter to all of you thinking of all of the great memories that we have all shared and all of the struggles that we have been through together. Whether it be staying up late talking about our problems, wondering if bear traps are allowed in the hall, or if it’s appropriate to go and play some more COD, each moment that I have spent with all of you has been one that I will never forget. With my new job in Rountree, I will always think back to the times of when 1 South or 3 North was aiming to be the best wing to live on, here at UW-Platteville. In my opinion, we accomplished just that.

 

As a wing, you all could come together to create a wonderful community that was inviting, inclusive and caring towards one another. Without that, many of the residents within our community wouldn’t have been able to reach out for help or admit to the wing and themselves who they really are. They say that the RA creates the community. Sadly, I somewhat disagree. I may have been the person to help the wing to where they needed to be, but it was all of you that made it possible for our community to be as successful as it was.

 

I am going to miss you all very much. I mean that, from the bottom of my heart. I know most of you will give me crap that there is such thing as a cell phone and Facebook, but sadly they will not have the same effect as waking up with all of you every morning all through the school year. Just know that I am proud of all of you and that I couldn’t have asked for a better experience within the Department of Residence Life. Good luck with your summer and I hope that where ever you go after here, no matter where you are, it’s gonna be a good one!

 

Warm regards,

Ian Dorsch

AKA “DAD”

Leave a Reply

